Big Scissors: Fun at The Berry Farm

I have always wanted to cut a red ribbon with giant scissors… and I got my wish!

Here is how it happened:  I recently joined the Columbia County (NY) Chamber of Commerce.  One of the many benefits and perks is to hold a ribbon-cutting ceremony at your business, as your “coming out” to the community. That is great, but I don’t have a storefront of my own, so I thought the opportunity was lost.

Things have a way of working out for me, however, and this time was no different. I had approached The Berry Farm in Chatham NY about carrying some or all of my products. They are the ideal location because of many factors: they are well-established and well-respected; on a busy route with tons of traffic; they already support many other local food producers; and with their tremendous amount of produce grown right there in their greenhouses, they are very appreciative of organic and otherwise healthful products.

They said YES, they’d love to carry my “single” herbs and spices, as opposed to the dozen+ blends I make. We set a date for the initial delivery of almost 200 beautiful glass jars of herbs and spices.  Driving home from the meeting,  it occurred to me that although I’ve partnered with several other retail stores, The Berry Farm was my first location in Columbia County.  Ding ding ding!

 I speed-dialed the Chamber to ask if I could hold my ribbon-cutting at The Berry Farm. After getting their enthusiastic OK, we set the date for March 17th.  The Chamber gathered members as well as folks from the press, while I enlisted some local friends to come. I even made arrangements to make a delivery to a new customer, at the store, so that she could share in the moment.

It all came together beautifully. I had prepared a big pan of my Lula’s Fruit Crisp with apples and plums (it’s not for nothing that they say,  if you want to keep people happy, feed them!). Carol Patterson, the Chamber’s Membership Director, kindly introduced me. She let me say a few words about myself and the company, then we got down to the serious of slicing up that 10 foot glossy red ribbon.

Yes, the scissors really are that big! Thanks to David Lee of the Register-Star for capturing the moment.

My products, by the way, look smashing sitting on the shelves among the fresh produce and specialty foods, don’t you think?

There are more on the other side!

Posted on March 29, 2011, in Events, Musings, Retail partners and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Lisa Westervelt

    Fabulous! You go, girl! I had Cocoa Joe on some grapefruit this morning — yet another way to use one of my favorites. Delicious!

  2. Excellent! Congratulations and may this exposure allow more people to enjoy tastier homemade food from their own kitchens!

  1. Pingback: Big Scissors: Fun at The Berry Farm « Your Spice of Life - Hardware Tools|computer hardware|Lighting torch|hair scissors|power tools|garage tools|car tools|mechanic tools – Yuantong Machinery

Leave a Reply

Art Annex Gallery

big art, small town

Christina Dellea

Singer for hire

Rick Bettencourt

Author of the bestsellers Marketing Beef, Tim on Broadway, and more!

The Cheese Traveler

A Cheese, Meat and Specialty Food Shop in the Heart of DelSo, Albany, NY

Savory Simple

Everyday Gourmet Recipes

inspiredhealthcoach.wordpress.com/

A Healthy Lifestyle Designed For You

Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

A how to for everyone and anyone

Your Spice of Life

~ "Yummy. Easy. Organic."

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

