Recipe: Bread, rolls, pizza, oh my!

I have learned how to bake bread… and I feel like I have just invented fire. Yeah, I am Wonder Woman.

You have no idea how proud (and surprised) I am at this accomplishment! Why did I think that making bread was beyond my capabilities?

basil bread rolls

Basil whole wheat rolls with Viva Italia and parmesan

Granted,  just “making bread” is one thing, baking GREAT bread is another. But I am getting there — each new batch is better than the last. I’ve even started experimenting with my own little twists and turns, a sure sign that I am getting comfortable with the process.

Now, I am at the point where I want to share with you.  I’ve learned a few things in terms of using spices and herbs in breads, which is where all this bread-making was headed — using my Your Spice of Life products in something that we eat every day.

I think that I will do what the Becky Crocker cookbook does:  give you a “key recipe” then list possible variations.

For my “key recipe”, I used the one on the Gold Medal flour, for their “Classic White” bread.  Right off the bat, here are the substitutions to that recipe:

  • instead of all white flour, I used 3 cups white (unbleached) and 4 cups whole wheat
  • for the sugar, I used Turbinado sugar
  • for the shortening, I used olive oil
  • for the salt, I used sea salt
  • instead of using baking pans, I’ve been doing free-form shapes on a pizza stone

Loaf bread:

Follow key recipe above (with substitutions as listed).

Some herbs and spices that have worked well, mixed right into the dough, are rosemary; basil; onion powder; or Viva Italia spice blend.

I’ve also been adding to the outside of the loaves: choose from sea salt; Rosemary’s Chicken spice blend; Viva Italia spice blend; a mix of whole cumin seeds and chipotle powder; and parmesan cheese.

IMG_0504

Mixed white/wheat loaf with whole cumin and chipotle powder

For rolls:

Follow key recipe (with substitutions as listed)
Instead of shaping into loaves, cut dough into squares. Shape the rolls into round shapes. Top with whatever you want (salt, spices, cheese, etc), and bake for 10 minutes less than the loaves.

I recently made some basil whole wheat rolls with my Viva Italia on top, with parmesan cheese. I can’t wait to try out more combinations!

Pizza Dough:

This one is easy! Just follow the key recipe (with substitutions as listed) up to the step where the ingredients are mixed together and you have a ball of dough. There is no need to let it rise. Let it rest for 10 minutes then it is ready to work with. Separate the dough into portions (makes 2 large pizzas or 4 small ones), and stretch it out on a greased cookie sheet or ungreased pizza stone. Prepare pizza as you want to in terms of toppings, and bake at 450° until crispy. There are thousands of recipes online if you want the finer points of making pizza.

I have a friend who created and makes her own marinara sauce commercially — Meesh’s Marinara by La Bella Cucina, LLC. I am finding that this sauce works really well for pizza, as it is very fresh-tasting even though it is in a jar.

pizza

•••••••••••••••••••••

I will add to this as I come up with more interesting variations.  Will you also share with me your creations and suggestions?

Posted on April 27, 2013, in Main dish, Recipes, Testimonial, Viva Italia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Heya are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog
    world but I’m trying to get started and create
    my own. Do you need any html coding expertise to make your
    own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Hi Pizza Albany NY!
      Blogging is so much fun when you have great food to write about. I’m sure with pizza, you’ll have plenty of photos to make people drool.
      Re: the coding expertise, no you don’t need it for a simple WordPress.com blog. You can produce a nice-looking blog with lots of features without the coding. Then, if you ever want to bring it to the “next level”, you can engage someone to help you get fancier.
      If you have any other questions, feel free to shoot me an email to laura@yourspiceoflife.com.
      Best,
      Laura

Leave a Reply

Art Annex Gallery

big art, small town

Christina Dellea

Singer for hire

Rick Bettencourt

Author of the bestsellers Marketing Beef, Tim on Broadway, and more!

The Cheese Traveler

A Cheese, Meat and Specialty Food Shop in the Heart of DelSo, Albany, NY

Savory Simple

Everyday Gourmet Recipes

inspiredhealthcoach.wordpress.com/

A Healthy Lifestyle Designed For You

Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

A how to for everyone and anyone

Your Spice of Life

~ "Yummy. Easy. Organic."

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

