Recipe: Mexican Cornbread Muffins

I am not a baker. Really.

So why did I tackle cornbread muffins? Because I had a fabulous idea for a Mexican-style muffin, and I wasn’t going to let my fear of baking stop me!

Here is the scoop:  this is the peak of the corn season, and I’ve been having fun preparing corn all sorts of ways. I pictured some nice, moist cornbread with lots of fresh kernels, something that my sister used to make and call “Corn on the Cube”.

cornbread

 

Then, I ran across a recipe for elote, a Mexican street food that involves rolling cooked corn in Queso Blanco, and I thought that QB would make a nice addition to my souped-up cornbread. Finally, as the flavors were coming together in my mind, I knew that my own Feisty Fiesta spice blend had to be included, as well, to bring a touch of heat.

I liked the idea of doing individual muffins instead of the traditional 9×9 — they seemed easier to portion, store and eat.

So, here is how it all came together: this is based on the original recipe from the back of the Quaker cornmeal box, with my own tweaks:

Ingredients:

1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour [I used whole wheat flour]
3/4 cup Quaker or Aunt Jemima enriched corn meal
1/4 cup sugar [I used Turbinado sugar]
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 tsp Feisty Fiesta spice blend
1 cup skim milk [I used unsweetened almond milk]
1/4 cup vegetable oil [I used olive oil]
2 egg whites or 1 egg, beaten
Corn kernels from 1 ear fresh corn (raw)
6 oz Queso Blanco or Queso Fresco, finely grated or cubed

Method:

Heat oven to 400 F.
Prepare 12 muffin cups with a paper liner or baking spray.
Combine dry ingredients.
Stir in milk, oil and egg, mixing just until dry ingredients are moistened.
Mix in the corn kernels and the Queso Blanco cheese.
(If the batter is too dry, add a splash of milk).
Pour batter into muffin tins.
Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown and wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.

12 small muffins.

 

Posted on August 20, 2013, in Feisty Fiesta, Recipes, Side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Can you give us your recipte for Feisty Fiesta spice blend?me

    • Hello Jan! I am sorry that it took so long to get back to you. Hopefully, you are still interested in the Feisty Fiesta recipe.
      It is simple (by teaspoons):
      cumin 2
      chili powder 2
      paprika 2
      oregano 6
      ground dried chili 1

      Mix everything together, then grind it to the consistency that you prefer. Re: the chili, you can start with less, than add more if it is not hot enough for you. I hope that you make many wonderful things with this — and most important, never have to buy packaged “taco seasoning” again!!! Laura

Leave a Reply

Art Annex Gallery

big art, small town

Christina Dellea

Singer for hire

Rick Bettencourt

Author of the bestsellers Marketing Beef, Tim on Broadway, and more!

The Cheese Traveler

A Cheese, Meat and Specialty Food Shop in the Heart of DelSo, Albany, NY

Savory Simple

Everyday Gourmet Recipes

inspiredhealthcoach.wordpress.com/

A Healthy Lifestyle Designed For You

Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

A how to for everyone and anyone

Your Spice of Life

~ "Yummy. Easy. Organic."

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

